Skip to content
MUSEUM AND NWFC CLOSED: The Portland Art Museum and Northwest Film Center are closed in an effort to further stem the spread of COVID-19. All public programs, screenings, and events are canceled until further notice. Stay connected to art, film, and more by signing up for our newsletter.

The Northwest Film Center and the Portland Art Museum present Spaceship Earth [Online]. Spaceship Earth premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and follows eight people who spent two years inside of a replica of Earth’s ecosystem called Biosphere 2.

Your $3.99 ticket will directly support both NWFC and PAM and we encourage all of our members, staff, and supporters to join us—and spread the word.

Virtual ticket sales will be unavailable after JUNE 28, 2020.

At a time when the bulk of cinemas are expected to remain shuttered due to the coronavirus pandemic, our plan is to continue bringing new films to the PAM and NWFC audiences that allow us to follow social distancing rules.

We are proud to partner with NEON, the film production and distribution company that released Oscar winners such as Parasite and I, Tonya, on this innovative strategy to bring Spaceship Earth to our audiences during COVID-19.

We are excited to offer this film at an affordable price because of the economic hardship that Americans are facing during the pandemic.

Spaceship Earth is the true, stranger-than-fiction, adventure of eight visionaries who in 1991 spent two years quarantined inside of a self-engineered replica of Earth’s ecosystem called Biosphere 2. The experiment was a worldwide phenomenon, chronicling daily existence in the face of life-threatening ecological disaster and growing criticism that it was nothing more than a cult. The bizarre story is both a cautionary tale and a hopeful lesson of how a small group of dreamers can potentially reimagine a new world.

Watch the film followed by a special pre-taped conversation with Director Matt Wolf. You can also join one of our live virtual Q&A’s with filmmaker Matt Wolf and two Biosphere 2 crew members from the film, Linda Leigh and Mark Nelson.

Friday, May 15th – 7:30pm PT/10:30pm ET
Hosted by NRDC/Buckminster Fuller Institute, Moderated by Cheryl Slean
WATCH THE Q&A

Saturday, May 16th – 4:30pm PT/7:30pm ET
Hosted by Brooklyn Public Library, Moderated by Joel Whitney
WATCH THE Q&A

Saturday, May 16th – 6:30pm PT/9:30pm ET
Hosted by Alamo Drafthouse. A conversation about biospheric science and coconut bombs with Director Matt Wolf and Pauly Shore.
WATCH THE Q&A

Sunday, May 17th – 5pm PT/8pm ET
Hosted by Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive. Director Matt Wolf and artist Fritz Haeg in conversation. Moderated by Fanny Singer, the author of a new memoir about life with her mother, Alice Waters.
WATCH THE Q&A