Skip to content
MUSEUM AND NWFC CLOSED: The Portland Art Museum and Northwest Film Center are closed in an effort to further stem the spread of COVID-19. All public programs, screenings, and events are canceled until further notice. Stay connected to art, film, and more by signing up for our newsletter.

Directed by Jennifer Lebeau

United States 2017 59 mins. In English

Trouble No More showcases Bob Dylan’s creative and spiritual mindset during his “born again” gospel era, which generated three of his most debated and analyzed records—“Slow Train Coming” (1979), “Saved” (1980), and “Shot of Love” (1981). Featuring electrifying performances in Toronto and Buffalo thought to have been lost for years, the newly restored footage captures a band that includes keyboardists Spooner Oldham and Terry Young, Little Feat guitarist Fred Tackett, bassist Tim Drummond, drummer Jim Keltner, and vocalists Clydie King, Gwen Evans, Mona Lisa Young, Regina McCrary, and Mary Elizabeth Bridges. Interspersed with sermons written by Luc Sante and performed by Michael Shannon, the film offers another glimpse into the Dylan mystique.

Genres: Documentary

Appears in: Reel Music 35