Skip to content

2018 120 mins.

Seven scriptwriting contest finalists will have their work read live by professional actors. The winner will receive a production package from local companies Koerner Camera, Gearhead Grip, Stage 13, DigitalOne, Mission Control, PDX-Pendables,, the Northwest Film Center, and the OMPA. The goal is to provide a local filmmaker with the tools to go from scratch to finish with community support. Sponsored by SAG/AFTRA. Scripts to be read include:

36 Weeks by A.R. Hall

Myosotis Love by Charlie LaTourette

How to Draw A Girl by Darcy Miller

The Collector by Jen Elkington

Bird in the Water by Katie Bennett

The Woods by Peter Russell

The League of Not So Super Heroes by Spencer Miller


Actors participating with the live table read include: Anna Nicholas, Jeanine Jackson, Ava Anderson, Chrisse Roccaro, Sami Yacob-Andrus, Hailee More, Syd Winbush, Jack Poole, Andrew York, Peyton Yager, Todd Robinson, Jeff Rosnick, Darius Pierce, Harold Phillips, Ryan Noel, Dennis Fitzpatrick, Luke Alden, Trish Egan, Michelle Damis, Hailee More, and Lily Crow.

Special guest judges include:Sara B. Cooper, Todd Stein and Troy Greenwood.


The Northwest Film Center recognizes and honors the Indigenous peoples of this region on whose ancestral lands the museum now stands. These include the Willamette Tumwater, Clackamas, Kathlemet, Molalla, Multnomah and Watlala Chinook Peoples and the Tualatin Kalapuya who today are part of the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde, and many other Native communities who made their homes along the Columbia River. We also want to recognize that Portland today is a community of many diverse Native peoples who continue to live and work here. We respectfully acknowledge and honor all Indigenous communities—past, present, future—and are grateful for their ongoing and vibrant presence.